Attach to Form 990 or Form 990-EZ.
Go to
www.irs.gov/Form990 for instructions and the latest information.
| (i) Name of supported organization | (ii) EIN | (iii) Type of organization (described on lines 1- 10 above (see instructions)) | (iv) Is the organization listed in your governing document? | (v) Amount of monetary support (see instructions) | (vi) Amount of other support (see instructions) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yes | No | |||||
|
Total |
||||||
Calendar year
(or fiscal year beginning in)
![]() |
(a) 2017 | (b) 2018 | (c) 2019 | (d) 2020 | (e) 2021 | (f) Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gifts, grants, contributions, and membership fees received. (Do not include any "unusual grant.") .. | 450,000 | 1,250,000 | 60,000 | 1,760,000 | ||
| 2 | Tax revenues levied for the organization's benefit and either paid to or expended on its behalf.... | ||||||
| 3 | The value of services or facilities furnished by a governmental unit to the organization without charge.. | ||||||
| 4 | Total. Add lines 1 through 3 | 450,000 | 1,250,000 | 60,000 | 1,760,000 | ||
| 5 | The portion of total contributions by each person (other than a governmental unit or publicly supported organization) included on line 1 that exceeds 2% of the amount shown on line 11, column (f) .. | 1,142,333 | |||||
| 6 | Public support. Subtract line 5 from line 4. | 617,667 | |||||
Calendar year
(or fiscal year beginning in)
![]() |
(a) 2017 | (b) 2018 | (c) 2019 | (d) 2020 | (e) 2021 | (f) Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 | Amounts from line 4.. | 450,000 | 1,250,000 | 60,000 | 1,760,000 | ||
| 8 | Gross income from interest, dividends, payments received on securities loans, rents, royalties and income from similar sources... | 128 | 412 | 540 | |||
| 9 | Net income from unrelated business activities, whether or not the business is regularly carried on.. | ||||||
| 10 | Other income. Do not include gain or loss from the sale of capital assets (Explain in Part VI.).. | 1,968 | 3,193 | 5,572 | 23,175 | 33,908 | |
| 11 | Total support. Add lines 7 through 10 | 1,794,448 | |||||
Calendar year (or fiscal year beginning in) ![]() |
(a) 2017 | (b) 2018 | (c) 2019 | (d) 2020 | (e) 2021 | (f) Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Gifts, grants, contributions, and membership fees received. (Do not include any "unusual grants.") . | ||||||
| 2 | Gross receipts from admissions, merchandise sold or services performed, or facilities furnished in any activity that is related to the organization's tax-exempt purpose | ||||||
| 3 | Gross receipts from activities that are not an unrelated trade or business under section 513 ..... | ||||||
| 4 | Tax revenues levied for the organization's benefit and either paid to or expended on its behalf... | ||||||
| 5 | The value of services or facilities furnished by a governmental unit to the organization without charge | ||||||
| 6 | Total. Add lines 1 through 5 | ||||||
| 7a | Amounts included on lines 1, 2, and 3 received from disqualified persons | ||||||
| b | Amounts included on lines 2 and 3 received from other than disqualified persons that exceed the greater of $5,000 or 1% of the amount on line 13 for the year. | ||||||
| c | Add lines 7a and 7b.. | ||||||
| 8 | Public support. (Subtract line 7c from line 6.) | ||||||
Calendar year (or fiscal year beginning in) ![]() |
(a) 2017 | (b) 2018 | (c) 2019 | (d) 2020 | (e) 2021 | (f) Total | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 | Amounts from line 6... | ||||||
| 10a | Gross income from interest, dividends, payments received on securities loans, rents, royalties and income from similar sources.. | ||||||
| b | Unrelated business taxable income (less section 511 taxes) from businesses acquired after June 30, 1975. | ||||||
| c | Add lines 10a and 10b. | ||||||
| 11 | Net income from unrelated business activities not included on line 10b, whether or not the business is regularly carried on. | ||||||
| 12 | Other income. Do not include gain or loss from the sale of capital assets (Explain in Part VI.) .. | ||||||
| 13 | Total support. (Add lines 9, 10c, 11, and 12.).. | ||||||
| Section A - Adjusted Net Income | (A) Prior Year |
(B) Current Year (optional) |
||||
| 1 | Net short-term capital gain | 1 | ||||
| 2 | Recoveries of prior-year distributions | 2 | ||||
| 3 | Other gross income (see instructions) | 3 | ||||
| 4 | Add lines 1 through 3 | 4 | ||||
| 5 | Depreciation and depletion | 5 | ||||
| 6 | Portion of operating expenses paid or incurred for production or collection of gross income or for management, conservation, or maintenance of property held for production of income (see instructions) | 6 | ||||
| 7 | Other expenses (see instructions) | 7 | ||||
| 8 | Adjusted Net Income (subtract lines 5, 6 and 7 from line 4) | 8 | ||||
| Section B - Minimum Asset Amount | (A) Prior Year |
(B) Current Year (optional) |
||||
| 1 | Aggregate fair market value of all non-exempt-use assets (see instructions for short tax year or assets held for part of year): | 1 | ||||
| a | Average monthly value of securities | 1a | ||||
| b | Average monthly cash balances | 1b | ||||
| c | Fair market value of other non-exempt-use assets | 1c | ||||
| d | Total (add lines 1a, 1b, and 1c) | 1d | ||||
| e |
Discount claimed for blockage or other factors (explain in detail in Part VI): |
|||||
| 2 | Acquisition indebtedness applicable to non-exempt use assets | 2 | ||||
| 3 | Subtract line 2 from line 1d | 3 | ||||
| 4 | Cash deemed held for exempt use. Enter 0.015 of line 3 (for greater amount, see instructions). | 4 | ||||
| 5 | Net value of non-exempt-use assets (subtract line 4 from line 3) | 5 | ||||
| 6 | Multiply line 5 by 0.035 | 6 | ||||
| 7 | Recoveries of prior-year distributions | 7 | ||||
| 8 | Minimum Asset Amount (add line 7 to line 6) | 8 | ||||
| Section C - Distributable Amount | Current Year | |||||
| 1 | Adjusted net income for prior year (from Section A, line 8, Column A) | 1 | ||||
| 2 | Enter 85% of line 1 | 2 | ||||
| 3 | Minimum asset amount for prior year (from Section B, line 8, Column A) | 3 | ||||
| 4 | Enter greater of line 2 or line 3 | 4 | ||||
| 5 | Income tax imposed in prior year | 5 | ||||
| 6 | Distributable Amount. Subtract line 5 from line 4, unless subject to emergency temporary reduction (see instructions) | 6 | ||||
| Section D - Distributions | Current Year | |
|---|---|---|
| 1 Amounts paid to supported organizations to accomplish exempt purposes | 1 | |
|
2
Amounts paid to perform activity that directly furthers exempt purposes of supported organizations, in excess of income from activity |
2 | |
| 3 Administrative expenses paid to accomplish exempt purposes of supported organizations | 3 | |
| 4 Amounts paid to acquire exempt-use assets | 4 | |
| 5 Qualified set-aside amounts (prior IRS approval required - provide details in Part VI) | 5 | |
| 6 Other distributions (describe in Part VI). See instructions | 6 | |
| 7Total annual distributions. Add lines 1 through 6. | 7 | |
|
8
Distributions to attentive supported organizations to which the organization is responsive (provide details in Part VI). See instructions |
8 | |
| 9 Distributable amount for 2021 from Section C, line 6 | 9 | |
| 10 Line 8 amount divided by Line 9 amount | 10 | |
| Section E - Distribution Allocations (see instructions) |
(i) Excess Distributions |
(ii) Underdistributions Pre-2021 |
(iii) Distributable Amount for 2021 |
|
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Distributable amount for 2021 from Section C, line 6 | ||||
|
2
Underdistributions, if any, for years prior to 2021 (reasonable cause required-- explain in Part VI). See instructions. |
||||
| 3 Excess distributions carryover, if any, to 2021: | ||||
| a From 2016....... | ||||
| b From 2017....... | ||||
| c From 2018....... | ||||
| d From 2019....... | ||||
| e From 2020....... | ||||
| fTotal of lines 3a through e | ||||
| g Applied to underdistributions of prior years | ||||
| h Applied to 2021 distributable amount | ||||
|
i
Carryover from 2016 not applied (see instructions) |
||||
| j Remainder. Subtract lines 3g, 3h, and 3i from line 3f. | ||||
| 4Distributions for 2021 from Section D, line 7: | ||||
| $ | ||||
| a Applied to underdistributions of prior years | ||||
| b Applied to 2021 distributable amount | ||||
| c Remainder. Subtract lines 4a and 4b from line 4. | ||||
|
5
Remaining underdistributions for years prior to 2021, if any. Subtract lines 3g and 4a from line 2. If the amount is greater than zero, explain in Part VI. See instructions. |
||||
|
6
Remaining underdistributions for 2021. Subtract lines 3h and 4b from line 1. If the amount is greater than zero, explain in Part VI. See instructions. |
||||
|
7 Excess distributions carryover to 2022. Add lines 3j and 4c. |
||||
| 8 Breakdown of line 7: | ||||
| a Excess from 2017..... | ||||
| b Excess from 2018..... | ||||
| c Excess from 2019..... | ||||
| d Excess from 2020..... | ||||
| e Excess from 2021..... | ||||
| Facts And Circumstances Test |
|---|
| GREATER JAMAICA LOCAL DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, INC. ("GJLDC") WAS FORMED IN 1979 BY GREATER JAMAICA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION ("GJDC") TO AID IN THE EXPANSION AND REVITALIZATION OF COMMERCIAL AND INDUSTRIAL BUSINESSES IN THE JAMAICA, NEW YORK AREA, AND IS A RECOGNIZED COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT FINANCIAL INSTITUTION ("CDFI"). GJLDC AND GJDC ARE GOVERNED BY THE SAME BOARD OF DIRECTORS, CORPORATE OFFICERS, EXECUTIVE MANAGEMENT, AND SHARE THE SAME STAFF. GJLDC HAS HISTORICALLY SHOWN A PUBLIC SUPPORT PERCENTAGE IN THE RANGE OF 80.00% TO 95.00%, RECEIVING PERIODIC GRANTS PRIMARILY FROM STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT. IN THE MID-2010'S, THE AVAILABILITY OF THESE TYPES OF GRANTS WANED, THEREBY REDUCING GJLDC'S PUBLIC SUPPORT PERCENTAGE TO A LOW OF 6.00% IN 2020. WITH THE ADVENT OF COVID-19, CORPORATIONS AND STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT REDIRECTED THEIR GRANTING EFFORTS IN WAYS THAT WOULD ENABLE INCREASED SUPPORT OF SMALL BUSINESSES. AS A RESULT, GJLDC HAS BEEN ABLE TO APPLY FOR AND RECEIVE GRANTS THAT HAD NOT PREVIOUSLY BEEN AVAILABLE, AND ITS PUBLIC SUPPORT PERCENTAGE INCREASED TO 10.44%. CORPORATE GRANT AVAILABILITY HAS CONTINUED INTO 2022, AND ALONG WITH ADDITIONAL GRANTING FROM GJDC, GJLDC IS PROJECTED TO MEET THE 33 1/3% SUPPORT TEST IN 2022. |
| Return Reference | Explanation |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE A, PART II, LINE 10, EXPLANATION OF OTHER INCOME: | MISCELLANEOUS REVENUE - 2018 AMOUNT: $ 1,968. 2019 AMOUNT: $ 3,193. 2020 AMOUNT: $ 5,572. 2021 AMOUNT: $ 23,175. |
| PART II, SECTION A, LINE 1(E): | THE ORGANIZATION IS REPORTING AN ADDITIONAL GRANT OF $35,000 FROM THE PARENT ORGANIZATION THAT WAS PAID AFTER YEAR END AND THEREFORE NOT REPORTED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. |
| Software ID: | |
| Software Version: |
Attach to Form 990 or 990-EZ.
Go to www.irs.gov/Form990 for the latest information.
| Return Reference | Explanation |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART I, LINE 1; | GJLDC'S TARGET MARKET AREA IS THE COUNTY OF QUEENS, NEW YORK, AND MORE SPECIFICALLY, GJLDC'S LOAN FUND IS AVAILABLE FOR ANY BUSINESS (EXISTING, NEW, OR START-UP) IN OR PLANNING TO LOCATE WITHIN THE114XX AND 116XX ZIP CODES WITHIN QUEENS COUNTY. AS AN ALTERNATIVE LENDER, OUR FUND IS TAILORED TO APPLICANTS WHO HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO OBTAIN FINANCING FROM TRADITIONAL SOURCES AT THE LEVEL REQUIRED BY THE VENTURE. THE TARGET APPLICANT IS INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND OPERATED, AND GENERALLY HAS QUALIFIED AS A SMALL BUSINESS PURSUANT TO THE SBA SIZE STANDARDS BASED UPON DOLLAR VOLUME AND THE NUMBER OF ITS EMPLOYEES. APPLICANTS MUST HAVE SALES OF LESS THAN $10 MILLION. FINANCING IS AVAILABLE FROM $1,000 TO $300,000. SPECIAL CONSIDERATION FOR THE LOAN FUND PRODUCT IS GIVEN TO MEETING THE NEEDS OF WOMEN AND MINORITY-OWNED BUSINESSES. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 1: | GREATER JAMAICA LOCAL DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, INC. ("GJLDC") WORKING IN CONJUNCTION WITH ITS PARENT COMPANY, THE GREATER JAMAICA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION ("GJDC"), PROVIDES FINANCIAL AND RELATED TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE TO QUALIFYING SMALL BUSINESSES AND/OR ENTREPRENEURS IN GJLDC'S TARGET MARKET. THE OBJECTIVE OF THE FINANCING IS TO PROMOTE ENTREPRENEURSHIP, CREATE NEW JOBS, RETAIN EXISTING JOBS, AND PROMOTE COMMUNITY REVITALIZATION AND/OR STABILIZATION. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 4A: | WITHIN OUR TARGET MARKET, GJLDC PROVIDES LOANS TO QUALIFIED COMMERCIAL PROSPECTS THAT HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO OBTAIN FINANCING FROM TRADITIONAL LENDERS. WE OFTEN PARTICIPATE WITH OTHER LENDING INSTITUTIONS IN FINANCING PROJECTS THAT ARE BEYOND GJLDC'S FINANCIAL LIMITATION. WE MEASURE OUR SUCCESS BY THE DOLLAR AMOUNT OF LOANS DISBURSED, THE DOLLAR AMOUNT OF PRIVATE INVESTMENT LEVERAGED, THE NUMBER OF JOBS CREATED OR RETAINED AND OTHER PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES. RECOGNIZING THE NEED FOR URGENT ACTION IN RESPONSE TO THE COVID CRISIS, GJLDC AND ITS AFFILIATE GJDC, SIGNIFICANTLY INCREASED EMPHASIS ON PROVIDING OUR FREE SUITE OF TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE TO SMALL BUSINESSES IN OUR SERVICE GEOGRAPHY, WITH A SPECIAL FOCUS ON MWBE'S. SPECIFICALLY IN 2018 AND 2019, WE PROVIDED SERVICE ASSISTANCE (THROUGH CANVASSING, COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT EVENTS AND ONE-ON-ONE ASSISTANCE TO ABOUT 500 ENTITIES PER YEAR). BY CONTRAST, IN THE 14 MONTHS OF COVID, WE PROVIDED DIRECT ASSISTANCE TO 1745 BUSINESSES AND IMPACTED 1146 JOBS. OUR SERVICES RESULTED IN BUSINESS FUNDING AND/OR GRANTS SECURED OF $7,729.139. THROUGHOUT THE PANDEMIC, WE PARTNERED WITH FEDERAL, STATE, AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTAL UNITS TO PROVIDE FOCUSED ASSISTANCE AND GUIDANCE ON ACCESS TO NEWLY AVAILABLE BUSINESS RESOURCES. THE ABOVE REVENUE INCLUDES ONLY RELATED OR EXEMPT FUNCTION REVENUE REPORTED IN PART VIII, LINE 12B. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE RETURN IS PREPARED BY AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT AND REVIEWED AND APPROVED BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE AND THEN DISTRIBUTED TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | ON AN ANNUAL BASIS, THE POLICY AND DISCLOSURE FORM IS DISTRIBUTED TO BOARD MEMBERS, OFFICERS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES. STAFF FOLLOWS UP TO ENSURE THE RECEIPT OF THE FORMS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 | THE COMPENSATION OF THE CEO IS DETERMINED BY THE RELATED ORGANIZATION, GREATER JAMAICA DEVELOPMENT CENTER, WITH EIN # 23-7021273. THE SALARIES ARE BEING PAID BY THAT ORGANIZATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | GRANT FROM RELATED ORGANIZATION NOT REPORTED IN FINANCIAL STATEMENT -35,000. |
| FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C: | THE PROCESS OF OVERSEEING THE AUDIT AND SELECTION OF INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR. |
| FORM 990, PART I, LINE 5 AND PART V, LINE 2A: | NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES: ALL EMPLOYEES OF GREATER JAMAICA LOCAL DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, INC. ARE PAID THROUGH GREATER JAMAICA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION AND THE PAYROLL IS ALLOCATED AND CHARGED BACK TO GREATER JAMAICA LOCAL DEVELOPMENT COMPANY, INC. THEREFORE, PART I, LINE 5 AND PART V, LINE 2A INDICATE THAT NO EMPLOYEES WERE REPORTED ON FORM W-3, TRANSMITTAL OF TAX AND WAGE STATEMENTS. SINCE SUCH EMPLOYEES ARE REPORTED ON THE W-3 OF GREATER JAMAICA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VII, SECTION A, COLUMN B: | AVERAGE HOURS PER WEEK: THE AVERAGE HOURS PER WEEK REPORTED FOR THE OFFICERS LISTED BELOW OF 35 HOURS REPRESENTS THE TOTAL HOURS WORKED PER WEEK FOR SUCH INDIVIDUALS FOR GJDC AND ALL RELATED ORGANIZATIONS. THE ALLOCATION OF TIME FOR SUCH OFFICERS BETWEEN GJDC AND ITS RELATED ORGANIZATIONS IS AS FOLLOWS: HOPE KNIGHT-GJDC (100%) TODD S BENENSON-GJDC (95%) AND GJLDC (5%) CAROLINE FORBES-GJDC (100%) BLONDEL PINNOCK-GJDC (100%) |
| Software ID: | |
| Software Version: |
|
Affiliated Group Business Name:
GREATER JAMAICA DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION
Address. Either US or Foreign Type:
90-04 161ST STREET
JAMAICA, NY11342 EIN:
23-7021273
Electing Organization Checkbox:
Total Grassroots Lobbying:
0
Total Direct Lobbying:
0
Total Lobbying Expenditures:
0
Other Exempt Purpose Expenditures:
8,667,456
Total Exempt Purpose Expenditures:
8,667,456
Lobbying Nontaxable Amount:
583,373
Grassroots Nontaxable Amount:
145,843
Tot Lobbying Grassroot Minus Non Tx:
0
Tot Lobby Expend Mns Lobbying Non Tx:
0
Share Of Excess Lobbying:
|
|
Affiliated Group Business Name:
JAMAICA CAPITAL CORPORATION
Address. Either US or Foreign Type:
90-04 161ST STREET
JAMAICA, NY11342 EIN:
13-4214984
Electing Organization Checkbox:
Total Grassroots Lobbying:
0
Total Direct Lobbying:
0
Total Lobbying Expenditures:
0
Other Exempt Purpose Expenditures:
507
Total Exempt Purpose Expenditures:
507
Lobbying Nontaxable Amount:
101
Grassroots Nontaxable Amount:
25
Tot Lobbying Grassroot Minus Non Tx:
0
Tot Lobby Expend Mns Lobbying Non Tx:
0
Share Of Excess Lobbying:
|